When Creina, Jim and Jezebel came to stay!

As much as CRPS/RSD is simply a big load of BS, the thing that I am so grateful for I the friends that I have made all because I have this horrible nerve disease. It’s easy to get bogged down in the bad stuff, but there is no denying that because of Facebook, I have met some awesome people that have been so supportive. For me the day I joined my first FB group was the day it all got so much better.

One of those people is my good friend Creina, from Adelaide. She was one of the first people with CRPS that I met and we have become great friends. She is at the beginning of a huge trip around Eastern Australia with her very supportive husband Jim and sweet little westie terrier, Jezebel.

One their way through to Victoria, Creina, Jim and Jez stopped off at our place in the South East for a few days to enjoy the cooler weather, go to the beach and relax. Well that was the plan anyway! We managed a walk on the beach the afternoon they arrived and then it rained until they left. So much for summer! It was so cold that winter clothes came out and there was certainly no swimming. We were really looking forwards to soaking in the water and taking in all of the magnesium that we could. There is always next time.

What the weather did offer was the opportunity to have a look around the town and take it easy. A quick breakfast and then a look through the shops. This included shopping in the chemist for pain killers and other options. Lol, that’s something only a person with chronic pain can relate to.  We walked the two dogs around the town in between stops. Gemma and Jezebel became fast friends, it was so sad for them when it was time to say good bye.

The thing that I loved about having Creina here, other than having her here…  was that we were both in the same condition and were able to do things without trying to keep up. It was fantastic. We just plodded along at our own pace. I didn’t have to drag myself around in pain because she understood when I needed to stop. I have found that even though others make allowances, it still ends up as more of a compromise and I crash in no time. I am learning to say no though.

Sadly in no time, it was time for them to head off on their trip. They are traveling in a Winnebago and towing a beautiful yacht that they will sail whenever they can. It’s really inspiring to see someone with CRPS achieve their goals and overcome such debilitating hurdles.

Have fun guys. xxx

All photos by C Krause

1, Creina and I

2, Jezebel and Gemma at the beach

3, The Big Lobster (aka Larry), Kingston SE, SA

Leave a Reply

