MAGNESIUM BATHS: My Fave New DIY Treatment

As you all know I love love love Magnesium and what it can do for our bodies. I have written before about making my own Magnesium oil and am currently experimenting with a few other ways to apply Magnesium to my skin. I personally believe dermally is simply the best way for us chronic pain sufferers to get it into us and hopefully directly settle the pain.

Until recently my main alternative to the oil was to have an Epsom Salt (Magnesium Sulphate) bath. It’s cheap, and effective. In a warm bath it helps sooth a flare but recently I was cut short of some salts when I really needed them. It was one of those flares where you can barely move a muscle without triggering a chain of excruciating spasms that shoot through your body. Walking’s out of the question and it became a full bodied nightmare and this time I had no salts to heal me.

To cut the story short, what I did have available was the Magnesium crystals (magnesium chloride) that I use to make my Magnesium Oil. What the heck, I was desperate to try anything, so in they went.

I hopped into the bath and soaked my poor hurting body for about an hour. The warm water always feels so good when I’m suffering and when I turn the jets on; I get a bonus massage as well. I normally only last an hour to hour and a half tops before I get bored. So when it came time to get out I couldn’t believe that my flare had settles almost entirely. I could walk; I was a functioning human being once again. Well, for a CRPS sufferer anyway. There was still pain but the sort I could handle these days.

Suddenly Epsom Baths seemed to lose their shine. I used to think they were magic and now they are what I have when I’m saving my Magnesium Crystals for a special/crappy occasion.

I’m finding that what I’m calling Magnesium Baths are able to calm my flares and able me to function again the majority of times I try them. This morning I woke up to an average flare. Aching joints, spasms, throbbing and shooting pain, the normal deal, I was just a ball of hurt. I was planning to drive to see a friend 40km away later in the day and this was an issue. I’m trying to get out more these days to keep myself mentally healthy. CRPS is such a soul crushing disease. I got up knowing it wasn’t a good sign. If I wake up with pain it means it will only get worse. An average day gives me up to an hour of low pain before it hits me in a mid range of pain. I decided to take action and have a good soak in some Magnesium and Wham Bam Thank You Mam…… I was human again….. Ok, I was CRPS human again!!!

I really do think that for me the Magnesium Baths are helping me calm my flares and turning them into something bearable. I don’t always choose to have them because we are on rain water here and it’s a big bath to fill. Summer can leave our water supply a little stressed. Some days I have to settle for smothering myself with Magnesium Oil and having a warm shower. (Sarcastic) Yayyyyyyy!!!!!!

I do sometimes laugh at how I call my low pain flares “functional”. The only other way I would describe someone’s issues with the word “functional” is if you describe someone as a “functional alcoholic”. Lol. It’s insane what we call “low pain” and a “good day” with CRPS.

But back to the Magnesium Baths, I do love that they are a drug free way of calming a flare. I find that the further into CRPS that I am getting, the more I feel that finding alternative treatments are important. My baths won’t kill off my kidneys, cause me to become a zombie, an addict, stop me driving or give any other nasty side effects it may on the other hand cause me to be a “functional magnesium user”

My bath normally consists of the following:

Water to above the spa jets and deep enough for me to lie in

1 cup Magnesium crystals (replacing the same in Epsom salts)

Essential Oils (I’m starting to play with new oils so watch this space) Lavender, Spearmint and Patchouli

A pot of green rose tea

Good music

A scented candle

Something to read

If you try Magnesium Baths for yourself, I would love to hear if they help. We are all different, but I do hope this helps other sufferers.

Hope your pain free today. xx

Can I also point out that I’m not a Doctor or any other practitioner. I am simply passing on to other sufferers what helps me cope with CRPS and what works for me may not work for you. It’s up to you to try for yourself and perhaps quiz your GP about it if you have concerns. I’m not responsible for how you use this information. I do hope you and others get something positive from this. It’s all about helping each other out.

Leave a Reply

