Ketamine, Coffee, Food, Family and Student Doctors!

Ah Ketamine. I just love it! Its been two weeks since my trip to Adelaide for my three day infusion. It was a great trip. I went with my second family, Steff, Phil and Amity. It was a great trip even if I did sleep for most of it. We travelled to Adelaide on the Monday afternoon and arrived in time for dinner and had the best Indian food I have ever had from my fave Restaurant Raj on Taj in King William Rd. I have not eaten there in years and it was divine. The next day I had my first day of infusions and I pretty much slept through the whole three days. It went really quickly. Basically my whole trip went much like this… Ketamine, Coffee, Food, Family and Student Doctors!

The weather during this trip was Hot, rainy and humid. It was a shocker and it did raise my pain for the first few days, but by the end of the three days I was feeling good and my pain was at an all time low. It was so nice. Steff even noticed how my presence changed as I came out of the pain. Each morning I was driven to the hospital by Phil who then returned to pick me up that afternoon. The staff in the pain clinic naturally thought that Phil was my Dad and I soon realised that there was no point correcting them. Having fasted each morning and being in need of a good coffee, I introduced Phil to my fave café, Cibo on Rundle St and I got him hooked. Each day we would grab a latte and I would spoil myself with a yummy pastry. If I move to Adelaide I’m scared that I’ll be the size of a house because I love the pastries so much. Yum! After my infusion we would normally relax before going out for dinner and eating fantastic food and I even snuck in a glass of wine when I felt the need. Not sure if that was a good choice but one couldn’t hurt. Lol.

Aside from all the food, two really exciting things happened while I was having my infusions. The first thing being that I got to speak to student doctors about CRPS! On two of the mornings I was asked if I was interested in having a chat with some fifth year student doctors. I was really excited to be able to make around fifteen future doctors aware of CRPS. The average diagnosis of CRPS is made after four years of suffering and most doctors never see or diagnose CPRS so I knew that this was a great opportunity. The students were equally excited to chat about my experience and treatment as well. I decided to be really open with them and the students on the second day really got into my story. It was a smaller group and we were chatting for near an hour and made my infusion run way over. I didn’t mind though. I hope I can have the opportunity to do it again. Hopefully someone will benefit from my sharing my story.

On the last day of my infusion, I was in recovery and chatting with a nurse about the mental strain that CRPS puts of you when she asked if I had seen anyone like a psychologist. I told her about the lack of care I had received from being in a rural area. The next thing I know she is off to ask the clinic psychologist if she could see me while I was in town. The next day she fit me in and it was great. We basically started by chatting about what has happened so far, who I am and how I am coping. Her main concern so far is my lack of sleep and how it is affecting me. I have started on Melaton and will be doing a three month trial to see if it helps. I will now do a phone session every three weeks and meet at the clinic when I have appointments at the hospital. Mostly I’m hoping that I’ll be able to improve my outlook on life and living with CRPS. Already Im looking at what I could be doing to move forwards and not make CRPS my main focus in life. It can’t own me but I have been a little stuck trying to sort it all out on my own. Things are looking up!

Leave a Reply

