Can I Still LOVE Winter?

Can I still love winter? I hope so. CRPS is so hard on the body in nice weather; hot weather was harsh and coped by hiding inside where it was cool and going to the beach in the evening and soaking my body back to a comfortable temperature. Now my second winter with CRPS is here and I’m not holding up to well.
Last year I just thought it was the natural progression of CRPS. The disease seemed to spiral downhill so fast. I was struggling to walk, I thought I was going to end up in a wheel chair, My neurological symptoms were worsening, I couldn’t hold a knife and fork and there were days on end where I suffered at home in misery. But then I had my first Ketamine infusion and then another and things got better. Looking back around the same time winter broke and along came spring.
So it wasn’t all just my body getting taken over by CRPS, it was also winter. Yay!!!! Something to look forwards to each year… Not.
So here I am at the beginning of winter and my body is not happy. It will be interesting to see how I hold up. The only difference this year is that I have more of a hold on how to cope. I love winter so much. I live on the South Australian coast in a beautiful part of the country and I love how fierce the ocean is during winter. I love rainy winter days where I snuggle up on the couch drinking tea and watching movies. I’m sure I will get a few of those days this year.
I’m determined to still love winter and to make the most of my time even though I might be in hell pain wise. I’m studying at the moment and hoping to start my Bachelor of Health Science (Nutritional Medicine) and I’m determined to blog more. At the moment there are days where I’m scared of what’s to come but I’m trying to make the most of things. It wasn’t all bad last winter after all.
So that’s where I’m at, at the moment. I’m ok though. I’m not looking for sympathy; I think others deserve it more. I would love to hear how all of you cope with winter?
Hope your all pain free xx

6 thoughts on “Can I Still LOVE Winter?

  1. Autumn is approaching here in Scotland and the temperature has really dropped, your post is something that I’ve been thinking about. Already the pain flares are increasing. I really dislike winter, you’ll probably see that if you see my blog. I need to think of coping strategies because it very much looms and apart from moving I will have to deal with it.

    • Sorry that its getting colder for you. Scottish winters would be horrible for your CRPS. I was supposed to be in Scotland fora wedding a few years ago but I got CRPS instead. 😦 I have been working on a post on what I have done to get me through this winter. Ive done the list, so Ill try to post it soon. 🙂 Winter is on its way out this week. Tomorrow will be a sunny 18C and Im going to try to get outside. Here in Australia our summers can be just as brutal. I try to sleep through the heat and be awake when its cooler. Im lucky to be one the coast but have had to be helped into the water before. Spring and Autumn is by far the best time of he year. I will have a look at your blog. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

